Webber Award 2012

The Department of Mathematical Sciences is glad to announce that the recipients of the Webber Award this year are Valerie Maxwell, Mathematics and Science Education Resource Center, University of Delaware, and Jack Baldino, St. Mark’s High School.

The Webber Award ceremony will be held Thursday May 10th, 2012 at the Gore Recital Hall in the Center for the Arts (110 Orchard Rd.).

The Webber Award is given in memory of Dr. G. Cuthbert Webber, Professor of Mathematics, University of Delaware (1937 - 1981), for work in advancing mathematics education.

The keynote address will be presented by Dr. Diana V. Lambdin, Indiana University.

The title of her presentation is “Challenges and Paradoxes in Mathematics Teaching and Learning.”

She will address issues related to determining the content of the school mathematics curriculum as well as additional challenges that need to be considered such as societal attitudes about mathematics, need for highly qualified teachers, and how student achievement is measured and compared.

There will be refreshments at 3:30 pm in the lobby. The ceremony will start at 4:00 pm with introductions and presentations of the awards followed by the keynote address at 5:00 pm.

The Delaware mathematics education community and anyone interested in attending are cordially invited to the ceremony.


Article created: April 20, 2012